Will upgrading SwiftKey lose my personal/learned language data?

No, it shouldn’t.

Your personal language profile is stored on your SIM card. On installing SwiftKey, learned data from the trial version is inherited. Uninstalling SwiftKey can clear your learned language data, so if you are upgrading from trial to the full version of SwiftKey it's best to install the upgrade before uninstalling your previous version of the app.

To ensure that your learned language is saved, we would advise you to sign up to SwiftKey Cloud and enable Backup & Sync. Please see the articles, ‘What is SwiftKey Cloud?’ and ‘What is Backup & Sync?’ for further information.

If you don’t wish to sign up to SwiftKey Cloud, we can’t guarantee that your learned language data will be saved. However, if you are upgrading from trial to the full version of SwiftKey it's best to install the upgrade before uninstalling your previous version of the keyboard.



Feedback and Knowledge Base